Floyd County Emergency Management Commission

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

The Office of Emergency Management is located on the Ground Floor of the Floyd County Courthouse. 
The Office of Emergency Management is governed by Chapter 29C State Code of Iowa and enforced by the Floyd County Emergency Management Commission consisting of Chair and Vice Chair positions selected from the commission members which consist of the Mayors of the corporate cities within Floyd County, a Board of Supervisor member and the Floyd County Sheriff. 
Floyd County EMA is responsible for county emergency planning requirements developed by the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division under Chapter 29C and works in cooperation with the emergency response agencies within Floyd County to develop emergency response planning, response and recovery guidance and serves as the initial contact and liaison for Iowa Homeland Security issues at the state and federal levels.

According to the Iowa Code 29C.10, the Emergency Management Commission shall appoint an Emergency Management Coordinator and delegate their authority in order to fulfill the Commission’s duties as described in the Iowa Code and Administrative Rules. When a disaster or emergency occurs, the emergency management coordinator shall provide coordination and assistance to the governing officials of the municipalities and the county.

The five phases of Emergency Management include:

1. Mitigation activities allow organizations to reduce loss of life and physical assets such as buildings and supplies that will lessen the overall effect of disaster on an organizations and the community as a whole.

2. Prevention focuses on creating concrete plans, training and exercises well ahead of a disaster to prepare your organization. Emergency planning activities will allow organizations to reduce loss of life and sustain environmental challenges by developing organizational specific plans, standardizing planning tools, and creating emergency management protocols.

3. Preparedness is a continuous cycle of activities such as emergency planning, staff training, exercising, assessment and remedial actions. Preparedness and readiness go hand in hand as organizations and communities prepare for disaster.

4. Response is how organizations respond to whatever challenges disasters bring such as supply chain interruptions, changes in service delivery or day to day staffing. As organizations respond to disaster, they must use all their emergency preparedness tools such as emergency plans, policies and procedures, and staff training to respond to any type of disaster.

5. Recovery focuses on restoring critical business functions to stabilize day to day services and increase capacity to continue to serve their community after a disaster. The recovery phase allows organizations to return normal service levels as soon as possible.


 Floyd County Emergency Management does NOT provide sandbags to residents. We maintain a nominal inventory of sandbags for protection of critical infrastructure only. Within the Cities of Floyd County, the sandbag policy lies individually with each City jurisdiction. Those residents are encouraged to contact their local City administration or public works office for information regarding the local policy. There are privately owned sandbag distribution companies in Iowa that can be found on the internet.

Commission Members:
Community Mayors:

Charles City: Dean Andrews 

Colwell: Jeff Wright    
Floyd: Trevis O'Connell  
Marble Rock: Jerry Engelhardt 
Nora Springs: Randy Hassman 
Rockford: Scott Johnson  

Rudd: Jeff Buland
Board of Supervisors Representative: Jim Jorgensen 
Floyd County Sheriff:
 Jeff Crooks